Jericho Writers
4 Acer Walk , Oxford, OX2 6EX, United Kingdom
UK: +44 (0)345 459 9560
US: +1 (646) 974 9060
Margaret Kirk

Margaret Kirk - Editor

Margaret Kirk writes ‘Highland Noir’  – Scottish crime fiction with a gothic twist, set in and around her home city of Inverness.

Her debut novel, Shadow Man, won the Good Housekeeping First Novel Competition in 2016. ‘A harrowing and horrific game of consequences’ according to Val McDermid, it was published by Orion in 2017. What Lies Buried, book 2 in the DI Lukas Mahler series, was described as ‘an absolute cracker’ by Caroline Green and ‘Tartan Noir at its very best’ by the Daily Mail. Book 3, In The Blood, will be released in April 2021.

Margaret is also the writer of several award-winning short stories. Still Life was broadcast on Radio 4 as part of their’ Scottish Shorts’ series, and The Seal Singers (Das Lied der Seehunde) has been published in translation in Germany and Switzerland.

From us


Neil Lancaster, bestselling author of the Tom Novak series, says: ‘Margaret offered honest and incisive feedback on my first book. Her advice was crucial in me securing a publishing contract’.

From them


I know from personal experience just how invaluable it can be to get feedback on your writing – and just how much of a difference the right kind of feedback at the right time can make.

I hadn’t been writing for long when I attended a crime-writing course tutored by the amazing Val McDermid. I had no idea whether my work was any good and I had zero confidence, but her perceptive comments and encouragement gave me the boost I needed to keep going. So when I won the Good Housekeeping First Novel Competition, I promised myself I would do whatever I could to help others in return.

Whatever your eventual writing goal is, my aim is to give you the tools you need to take the next steps towards it. I’ll offer honest and supportive feedback, in clear and concise language, based on everything I’ve learned since my first book was published.

I’m particularly fond of crime or suspense with a gothic vibe/hint of the supernatural.



Genres Margaret specialises in

Crime / Thriller / Action

Margaret's published books

What Lies Buried

What Lies Buried

Shadow Man

Shadow Man

Client successes


“Margaret read my first book, Going Dark, and offered honest and incisive feedback on the plot, pacing and prose. Her advice was crucial in me securing a publishing contract.”

– Neil Lancaster, best-selling author of the Tom Novak series

"I wasn't expecting such a speedy and helpful reply, packed with good advice... I shall always be grateful for the advice so far. It has given me renewed faith in my book and my ability as a writer. I had almost given up before."

- Cathy Y

View more editors